Meet Terence Young

From 2008 to 2015, Terence Young has served in the House of Commons as the Member of Parliament (MP) for Oakville. Prior to entering federal politics, from 1995 to 1999, Terence served as Member of Provincial Parliament (MPP) for Oakville in the Ontario Legislative Assembly. During this time he served as Parliamentary Assistant to the Ministers of Education and Finance.

After his fifteen year old daughter Vanessa suffered a fatal adverse reaction after taking the Johnson & Johnson drug Prepulsid, Terence founded Drug Safety Canada in 2002, a non-profit group dedicated to raising awareness of the risks and safe use of prescription drugs. His book Death by Prescription was published in March 2009 and is currently in its second edition. It has also been translated into French and Spanish.

Terence’s Parliamentary roles included serving on the Citizenship and Immigration, Health, Public Accounts and Status of Women committees.

During his time in the House of Commons, Terence earned the reputation as one of the hardest working MPs on Parliament Hill and the unanimous passage of Bill C-17 – also known as Vanessa’s Law – was one of his major achievements. Vanessa’s Law provided significant new powers to Health Canada to ensure Canadians are using prescription drugs safely. Terence also introduced the Warning Labels for Radio Apparatus Act which would have required manufacturers to place warning labels on devices that emit electromagnetic radiation. Reaching across party lines, Terence seconded Green Party Leader Elizabeth May’s Private Members Bill to establish a much-needed national framework to address Lyme disease, which also became law.

Terence lives in Oakville with Gloria, his wife of 39 years, and is proud father to two adult children: Madeline, and Hart, and one granddaughter Eleanor.